Wisconsin Technology Council Wisconsin Technology Council

Learn More About the 2007 Entrpreneurs' Conference

The Entrepreneurs' Conference is one of the Midwest's premier networking and hands-on events for entrepreneurs. Business leaders, investors and others made connections as they learned how to crack into today’s emerging markets.

  • 2007 Agenda / Panel Sessions (pdf)
    • This year's event included 21 panel discussions featuring plenty of success stories (and a few lessons not to be repeated). Winners of the 2007 Wisconsin Governor’s Business Plan Contest were announced, and the contest's top four finalists had the opportunity to pitch to hundreds of conference participants.
    • The annual “Seize the Day” award was presented to one of Wisconsin’s legendary entrepreneurs, Jan Eddy, retired president of Wingra Technologies.
  • 2007 speakers were:
    • Jason Fried, founder of Chicago-based 37Signals. Fried and 37Signals have drawn acclaim for web applications such as Basecamp (web-based project management), Backpack (web-based personal information management) and Ta-da List (web-based to-do lists). Basecamp received a Business Week “Best of the Web” award in 2005 and 2006.   
    • John May, often called the “father of angel networks.” He is the managing partner of the New Vantage Group in Vienna, Va., co-founder of the Investor’s Circle, associate director of the University of Virginia’s Darden School of Business, and chairman of the Angel Capital Association. May led the WAN deal syndication workshop and spoke at the Business Plan Contest awards banquet.  
    • Tim Jump, a high-school engineering teacher from the Twin Cities whose students won a national robotics championship -- against college teams! Jump addressed the importance of STEM education (science, technology, engineering and math) in today's knowledge economy. He was introduced by Tom Gunkel, chief operating officer of M.A. Mortenson Co., and an advocate of education that produces more, and better, entrepreneurs
  • Our SPONSORS! 
        We would like to thank our past sponsors and supporters. Call 608-442-7557 to learn how you can help sponsor the 2008 event.
        5Nines Data
        Aberdean Consulting
        Amcore Bank
        American Transmission Company
        Baird Venture Partners
        Chippewa Valley Technical College
        First Weber Group
        Flad & Associates
        Foley & Lardner
        Godfrey & Kahn
        Grant Thornton
        M.A. Mortenson Co.
        Makin’ Hey! Communications
        Madison Gas & Electric Co.
        Marshfield Clinic Applied Sciences
        Michael Best & Friedrich
        Milwaukee Economic Development Corporation
        Momentum Video Services Inc.
        Park Printing
        Quarles & Brady
        Reinhart Boerner Van Deuren
        Small Business Times
        The Business Journal
        Third Wave Technologies
        University Research Park
        U.S. Patent Services
        UW-Madison Office of Corporate Relations
        UW-Whitewater-Center for Innovation & Business Development, Wisconsin Innovation Service Center
        Venture Investors
        Vrakas/Blum S.C.
        Wisconsin Alumni Research Foundation 
        Wisconsin Education Association Council 
        WEA Trust
        We Energies
        Wisconsin Health and Educational Facilities Authority 
        Whyte Hirschboeck Dudek
        Wisconsin Entrepreneurs' Network
        Wisconsin Angel Network
        Wisconsin Department of Commerce
        Wisconsin Technology Network
        Wisconsin Department of Financial Institutions


  • Our 2007 Governor's Business Plan Contest SPONSORS!
    Aberdean Consulting LLC
    American Transmission Co.
    Associated Bank
    Axley Brynelson LLP
    The Boldt Company
    CG Schmidt Co
    Fitchburg Technology Campus
    Foley & Lardner LLP
    J.P. Cullen & Sons
    Johnson Block CPAs
    Loughrin Accounting & Tax Service
    Madison Gas & Electric Co.
    Makin’ HEY! Communications
    Marshfield Clinic Research Foundation
    Mason Wells Private Equity
    McAllen TEC Campus
    Michael Best & Friedrich LLP
    Quarles & Brady LLP
    Reinhart Boerner Van Deuren S.C.
    Ruedebusch Development & Construction
    Smith & Gesteland LLP
    State of Wisconsin Investment Board
    T Wall Properties
    University Research Park
    Wisconsin Department of Commerce
    Wisconsin Angel Network
    Wisconsin Realtors Association
    Whyte Hirschboeck Dudek
    Wisconsin Technology Council

  • The Entrepreneurs' Conference is produced by the Wisconsin Technology Council, Wisconsin Angel Network and the Wisconsin Innovation Network-Milwaukee Chapter, with core sponsorship by the state Department of Commerce.